Author Topic: Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards  (Read 565 times)

Offline gambitking

  • Development Group
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Force: 34
  • feel the boot breeze
    • FTP Alternatives
Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards
« on: July 17, 2008, 01:28:37 AM »
Didn't see this question yet, so i was wondering....

If a combat card ability allows a player to force an opposing unit to move back to its home after a battle (if not destroyed), but that opposing player plays a "battle again" type card such as Chewbacca or Zuckuss...., 

If, at the outcome of the battle where these cards are played, and both players missed, would the units battle again or would the opposing unit move home with no additional fighting?

If the battle-again card is enacted, then the movement card yields no benefit and is essentially ignored, because another battle is taking place, yet the movement card text stated that the movement should occur "after this battle".

However, if the movement card is enacted, the battle-again card is ignored because it could no longer battle the unit now in the adjacent zone... (OR you just move the unit, then battle again and completely break the written rules of combat actions... which must take place between units occupying the same zone).  Whew, there, sorry if its confusing. Anyone else come across this one?


"There's plenty of youth in the world. What we need is a fountain of Smart".

Offline Macharius

  • Recruit
  • Posts: 46
  • Force: 2
Re: Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 01:45:10 AM »
IMO the can't-against-can-rule strikes here:
The one card say "You can battle again.", the other card say "You can't battle again."
The rules says: follow the can't
But I am not a Rule-Guru.
I fight for the :republic:, but the :yoda: betray us.
So we crushed them, and now I fight for the :empire: !
Service Ribbons:
:empire::force::carrier::turbo::leader::elite::laser:

Offline gethralkin

  • Administrator
  • ******
  • Posts: 2524
  • Force: 139
  • "Hey... It's me!"
    • Star Wars PocketModel TCG Online
Re: Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 09:02:19 AM »
IMO the can't-against-can-rule strikes here:
The one card say "You can battle again.", the other card say "You can't battle again."
The rules says: follow the can't
But I am not a Rule-Guru.

Macharius is correct.  If two cards are in conflict, "can't" negates "can".

Offline Treschonde

  • Jedi Knight
  • ***
  • Posts: 401
  • Force: 85
  • Lead Designer/Coder
Re: Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2008, 09:10:25 AM »
To help illustrate, here are the cards, being shown using [card]

Chewbacca
Zuckuss

Wild Ride
Escape Plan

[c]112[/c][c]sv049[/c]
[c]ga074[/c][c]sv025[/c]
« Last Edit: July 17, 2008, 09:14:38 AM by Treschonde »
<a href="http://www.swpocketmodels.com/awesomebruce.swf" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.swpocketmodels.com/awesomebruce.swf</a>

Offline Porpman

  • Administrator
  • ******
  • Posts: 3319
  • Force: 179
  • "Got +Force?"
    • Porpoise Pond
Re: Forced Movement vs. Battle Again combat cards
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2008, 01:24:33 PM »
When combat cards are played, both abilities will be attempted.

So, the unit will be moved to the appropriate zone, and then the two will attempt to battle. Since they are in different zones, they cannot. This is in fact one of the ways that the "can't" overrides the "can".

However, in the case of a combination such as:

Attacker: Escape Plan
Defender: Safe Haven
[c]sv025[/c][c]o032[/c]

The battle will end because the Defender played Safe Haven. Then, the attacker will move to their own home zone. THEN it can choose another Defender to battle if one is available in that zone. In this case, both effects can happen so they will both complete.


For Help and Links go to the Jedi Temple